California Legislation to Allow Certain Vehicles to Pay Fee Instead of Passing Smog Test to be Considered on April 13, 2015


California Legislation to Allow Certain Vehicles to Pay Fee Instead of Passing Smog Test to be Considered on April 20, 2015

Legislation (A.B. 550) to allow an owner of a motor vehicle that is subject to the smog check program to pay a $200 smog abatement fee in lieu of passing a smog test will be considered by the Assembly Transportation Committee on Monday, April 20, 2015.  Under the bill, the vehicle would have to meet specified criteria in order to qualify. The bill would require the fee to be deposited in the Air Quality Improvement Fund.

If You Have Not Done So Already, We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Assembly Transportation Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Voice Your Opinion of A.B. 550  

  • Under current law, the smog check program requires inspection of motor vehicles upon initial registration, biennially upon renewal of registration, upon transfer of ownership, and in certain other circumstances. Existing law exempts specified vehicles from inspection, including motor vehicles manufactured prior to the 1976 model-year.
  • A.B. 550 allows the owner of a motor vehicle that is required to take a smog test to pay a smog abatement fee of $200 if the motor vehicle meets all of the following criteria: Is 30 or more model-years old; was manufactured during or after the 1976 model-year; fails a smog test; and fails a subsequent smog test after necessary repairs were made.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the California Assembly Transportation Committee to voice your opinion of A.B. 550.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

California Assembly Transportation Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Assemblymember Jim Frazier (Chair)
Phone: (916) 319-2011

Assemblymember Katcho Achadjian (Vice Chair)
Phone: (916) 319-2035

Assemblymember Catharine B. Baker
Phone: (916) 319-2016

Assemblymember Richard Bloom
Phone: (916) 319-2050

Assemblymember Nora Campos
Phone: (916) 319-2027

Assemblymember Kansen Chu
Phone: (916) 319-2025

Assemblymember Tom Daly
Phone: (916) 319-2069

Assemblymember Bill Dodd
Phone: (916) 319-2004

Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia
Phone: (916) 319-2056

Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez
Phone: (916) 319-2051

Assemblymember Young O. Kim
Phone: (916) 319-2065

Assemblymember Eric Linder
Phone: (916) 319-2060

Assemblymember Jose Medina
Phone: (916) 319-2061

Assemblymember Melissa A. Melendez
Phone: (916) 319-2067

Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian
Phone: (916) 319-2046

Assemblymember Patrick O'Donnell
Phone: (916) 319-2070