California Bill to Increase "Specially Constructed Class" from 500 to 750 Vehicles Per Year Approved by Assembly; Moves to Senate

Legislation (A.B. 1740) to increase the registration limit for exempted specially constructed vehicle (kit car) registrations from 500 to 750 vehicles per year was approved by the full California Assembly.  The bill now moves to the California Senate Transportation and Housing Committee for consideration.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Transportation Committee (List Attached) Immediately to Request Their Support for A.B. 1740.

  • Under current California policy, specially constructed vehicles that do not receive one of the 500 sequence numbers are subject to a “muddied” titling, registration and smog check process.
  • A.B. 1740 will help mitigate the “black market” value of these 500 sequence numbers which are often sold on e-bay and other on-line auction sites.
  • A.B. 1740 recognizes the minimal impact specially constructed vehicles have on air quality.
  • A.B. 1740 recognizes the fact that specially constructed vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven.
  • A.B. 1740 will help allow vehicle owners to confidently take advantage of a newly-enacted vehicle registration amnesty program for specially constructed vehicles that were previously registered or classified incorrectly.  Under the new law, the DMV will grant amnesty from prosecution to vehicle owners if certain conditions are met, including the owner filing a completed application with the department.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee today to urge support for A.B. 1740. Thank you for your prompt attention.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at

California Senate Committee on Transportation and Housing

Senator Alan Lowenthal - Chair
Phone: 916/651-4027
Fax:  916/327-9113

Senator Robert Huff - Vice-Chair
Phone: 916/651-4029
Fax: 916/324-0922

Senator Roy Ashburn
Phone: 916/651-4018
Fax: 916/322-3304

Senator Mark DeSaulnier
Phone: 916/651-4007
Fax: 916/445-2527

Senator Tom Harman
Phone: 916/651-4035
Fax: 916/445-9263

Senator Christine Kehoe
Phone: 916/651-4039
Fax: 916/327-2188

Senator Jenny Oropeza
Phone: 916/651-4028
Fax: 916/323-6056

Senator Fran Pavley
Phone: 916/651-4023
Fax: 916/324-4823

Senator Joe Simitian
Phone: 916/651-4011
Fax: 916/323-4529