California Bill to Expand Vehicle Retirement Program Approved by Senate Committee


DON’T DELAY!  Please voice your opposition for A.B. 1965 immediately from the California Senate Environmental Quality Committee (Full List Below) by emailing now:

You may use the following points in your message:

  • A.B. 1965 represents another attempt by California lawmakers to dust off a tired, flawed and ineffective scrappage program using your tax dollars.    
  • A.B. 1965 ignores the fact that all scrappage programs hold the potential for enthusiasts to lose a valuable source of rare parts for vehicle restoration projects.  
  • A.B. 1965 is unfair to many of the low-income vehicle owners the bill seeks to target by potentially denying them available parts from older cars in order to maintain their own vehicles. 
  • A.B. 1965 embraces the fact that most scrapped cars are infrequently or never used second or third vehicles.     
  • A.B. 1965 will do little to improve air quality which is directly connected to overall basic vehicle maintenance. 

Overview: Legislation (A.B. 1965) to require the Air Resources Board to expand the state’s program for the retirement and replacement of older passenger vehicles and light and medium-duty trucks was approved by the Senate Transportation and Housing Committee and will now be considered by the Environmental Quality Committee.  The bill has already been approved by the full Assembly.   Current law provides for “an enhanced fleet modernization program” to be administered by the Bureau of Automotive Repair based on guidelines adopted by the Air Resources Board.  Beginning in the 2016-17 fiscal year, the bill would require the agencies to set specific and measurable goals for the program’s expansion.  


California Senate Committee on Environmental Quality 

Senator Ted Gaines (R)                        

Senator Robert Wieckowski (D)                       

Senator Pat Bates (R)               

Senator Jerry Hill (D)                

Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D)                   

Senator Mark Leno (D)                         

Senator Fran Pavley (D)