California Bill to Exempt Pre-1981 Vehicles From Emissions Inspection Requirement Fails Committee Vote; Granted Reconsideration


Legislation (S.B. 1224) to exempt all motor vehicles prior to the 1981 model year from the emissions inspection requirement has been granted reconsideration after failing to be approved by a Senate Transportation and Housing Committee vote.  The bill failed on a 3-4 vote, with two committee members not voting.  The bill will be reconsidered in a future committee hearing.  Those who voted in favor of the bill are Senators Gaines, Harman and Wyland.  Those who voted against are Senators DeSaulnier, Lowenthal, Pavley and Simitian.  Senators Kehoe and Rubio did not vote on the bill.

We Urge You to Contact Senators DeSaulnier, Lowenthal, Pavley, Simitian, Kehoe and Rubio (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for S.B. 1224

  • S.B. 1224 recognizes the minimal impact of pre-1981 vehicles on emissions and air quality.
  • S.B. 1224 acknowledges that pre-1981 vehicles still constitute a minuscule portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction.
  • S.B. 1224 endorses the fact that pre-1981 vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven (a fraction of the miles each year as a new vehicle).
  • For years, legislators, regulators and stationary source polluters have felt the heat from failed efforts to meet air quality goals and have looked to older cars as a convenient scapegoat, using false data and inflated annual mileage assumptions to further their case.  S.B. 1224 helps validate the truth.  The old car hobby should not continue to carry the burden of past mistakes!

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact Senators DeSaulnier, Lowenthal, Pavley, Simitian, Kehoe and Rubio immediately to request their support of S.B. 1224.  Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Thank you for your assistance.

Senate Transportation and Housing Committee

To e-mail Senators DeSaulnier, Lowenthal, Pavley, Simitian, Kehoe and Rubio, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;

Senator Mark DeSaulnier (Chair)
Phone: (916) 651-4007

Senator Christine Kehoe
Phone: (916) 651-4039

Senator Alan Lowenthal
Phone: (916) 651-4027

Senator Fran Pavley
Phone: (916) 651-4023

Senator Michael Rubio
Phone: (916) 651-4016

Senator Joe Simitian
Phone: (916) 651-4011

Back to Breaking News: 2012 Archives