URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT
 

California Legislation Would Require Additional Labeling Requirements on Some Automotive Products

Legislation (A.B. 708) has been introduced in the California legislature to require manufacturers of designated consumer products, including automotive products, to include all ingredients on the product label and online on the manufacturer’s website.  Currently, ingredients in automotive products are not required to be listed on product labels. 

  • A.B. 708 would make it a crime to manufacture, distribute, and sell at retail or wholesale automotive products after July 1, 2016 that do not have a label listing all ingredients and a manufacturer webpage address at which product ingredient information can also be found.
     
  • A.B. 708 would apply to “automotive products,” specifically, all chemically formulated products for maintaining the appearance of a vehicle, including products for washing, waxing, polishing, cleaning or treating the exterior or interior surfaces of a vehicle, but excluding automotive paint and paint repair products.
     
  • A.B. 708 is an unnecessary burden on sellers of automotive products because California Proposition 65 already requires warnings be included on certain consumer products containing more than trace amounts of harmful chemicals

DON’T DELAY! Please contact members of the Assembly Business and Professions Committee to oppose A.B. 708!  

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

California Assembly Business and Professions Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:

assemblymember.bonilla@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.baker@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.bloom@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.campos@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.chang@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.dodd@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.eggman@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.gatto@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.holden@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.mullin@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.ting@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.wilk@assembly.ca.gov; assemblymember.wood@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Susan A. Bonilla (Chair)
Phone: (916) 319-2014
Email: assemblymember.bonilla@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Brian W. Jones (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (916) 319-2071
Email: assemblymember.jones@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Catharine B. Baker
Phone: (916) 319-2016
Email: assemblymember.baker@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Richard Bloom
Phone: (916) 319-2050
Email: assemblymember.bloom@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Nora Campos
Phone: (916) 319-2027
Email: assemblymember.campos@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Ling Ling Chang
Phone: (916) 319-2055
Email: assemblymember.chang@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bill Dodd
Phone: (916) 319-2004
Email: assemblymember.dodd@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman
Phone: (916) 319-2013
Email: assemblymember.eggman@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Mike Gatto
Phone: (916) 319-2043
Email: assemblymember.gatto@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Chris R. Holden
Phone: (916) 319-2041
Email: assemblymember.holden@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Kevin Mullin
Phone: (916) 319-2022
Email: assemblymember.mullin@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Philip Y. Ting
Phone: (916) 319-2019
Email: assemblymember.ting@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Scott Wilk
Phone: (916) 319-2038
Email: assemblymember.wilk@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jim Wood
Phone: (916) 319-2002
Email: assemblymember.wood@assembly.ca.gov


ENTHUSIASTS UNITED TO ADVANCE AUTOMOTIVE FREEDOMS

The future of our prized cars and trucks is being threatened! Add your voice to our growing U.S. and Canadian forces united to advance our automotive freedoms. SAN members defend the hobby by responding to timely e-mail updates on vehicle-related legislation and regulations. No fees. No SPAM. No obligations. Great strength comes with great numbers. Can we count on you to help preserve the classics of today and tomorrow?

GET INVOLVED TODAY:
YouTube Videos
Latest Tweets
Facebook Posts