Senate Rules CommitteeApproves Pro-Hobbyist Inoperable Vehicle Bill in Washington State; Moves to Floor of Senate

A version of SEMA model legislation (S.B. 5121) to prohibit cities or towns from enforcing an ordinance, development regulation, zoning regulation, or administrative practice that prevents automobile collectors from pursuing their hobby was approved by the Senate Rules Committee after having been passed by the Governmental Operations Committee.  Under the bill, junked, wrecked or inoperable vehicles stored on private property would only require screening from public view.  Six or fewer vehicles that are 30 years old or older, including one parts car, would be permitted for hobby vehicle restoration as long as restoration is an ancillary use of the property.  The bill will next be voted on by all members of the Washington Senate. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Senate (List Attached Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for S.B. 5121

  • S.B. 5121 would permit the repair or modification of motor vehicles on private property that are undergoing restoration.
  • S.B. 5121 would permit the maintenance of a parts car as a source of parts for motor vehicles undergoing restoration.
  • S.B. 5121 permits the maintenance for restoration of vehicles 30 years old and older, which corresponds to the state’s definition of “collector vehicles.”
  • S.B. 5121 establishes reasonable provisions that vehicles be located out of public view by means of suitable fencing, trees, shrubbery or other means. 
  • S.B. 5121 demonstrates a real effort by legislators and hobbyists to enact reasonable and fair compromise legislation.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact all members of the Washington Senate to request their support for S.B. 5121.  Thank you for your assistance.

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance.  

Washington State Senate

To e-mail all Senate members, copy and paste the email address block below:

barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov; michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov; randi.becker@leg.wa.gov; don.benton@leg.wa.gov; andy.billig@leg.wa.gov; john.braun@leg.wa.gov; sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov; michael.carrell@leg.wa.gov; maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov; annette.cleveland@leg.wa.gov; steve.conway@leg.wa.gov; bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov; j.darneille@leg.wa.gov; jerome.delvin@leg.wa.gov; tracey.eide@leg.wa.gov; doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov; joe.fain@leg.wa.gov; karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov; david.frockt@leg.wa.gov; jim.hargrove@leg.wa.gov; nick.harper@leg.wa.gov; bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov; brian.hatfield@leg.wa.gov; mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov; andy.hill@leg.wa.gov; steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov; janea.holmquistnewbry@leg.wa.gov; jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov; karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov; curtis.king@leg.wa.gov; adam.kline@leg.wa.gov; jeanne.kohl-welles@leg.wa.gov; steve.litzow@leg.wa.gov; rosemary.mcauliffe@leg.wa.gov; mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov; edward.murray@leg.wa.gov; sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov; mike.padden@leg.wa.gov; linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov; kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov; kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov; ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov; pam.roach@leg.wa.gov; christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov; nathan.schlicher@leg.wa.gov; mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov; timothy.sheldon@leg.wa.gov; paull.shin@leg.wa.gov; john.smith@leg.wa.gov; rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

Senator Barbara Bailey
Phone: (360) 786-7618
Email: barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Senator Michael Baumgartner
Phone: (360) 786-7610
Email: michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov

Senator Randi Becker
Phone: (360) 786-7602
Email: randi.becker@leg.wa.gov

Senator Don Benton
Phone: (360) 786-7632
Email: don.benton@leg.wa.gov

Senator Andy Billig
Phone: (360) 786-7604
Email: andy.billig@leg.wa.gov

Senator John Braun
Phone: (360) 786-7638
Email: john.braun@leg.wa.gov

Senator Sharon Brown
Phone: (360) 786-7614
Email: sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Carrell
Phone: (360) 786-7654
Email: michael.carrell@leg.wa.gov

Senator Maralyn Chase
Phone: (360) 786-7662
Email: maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov

Senator Annette Cleveland
Phone: (360) 786-7696
Email: annette.cleveland@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Conway
Phone: (360) 786-7656
Email: steve.conway@leg.wa.gov

Senator Bruce Dammeier
Phone: (360) 786-7648
Email: bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jeannie Darneille
Phone: (360) 786-7652
Email: j.darneille@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jerome Delvin
Phone: (360) 786-7614
Email: jerome.delvin@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tracey Eide
Phone: (360) 786-7658
Email: tracey.eide@leg.wa.gov

Senator Doug Ericksen
Phone: (360) 786-7682
Email: doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov

Senator Joe Fain
Phone: (360) 786-7692
Email: joe.fain@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Fraser
Phone: (360) 786-7642
Email: karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov

Senator David Frockt
Phone: (360) 786-7690
Email: david.frockt@leg.wa.gov

Senator James Hargrove
Phone: (360) 786-7646
Email: jim.hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Senator Nick Harper
Phone: (360) 786-7674
Email: nick.harper@leg.wa.gov

Senator Bob Hasegawa
Phone: (360) 786-7616
Email: bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov

Senator Brian Hatfield
Phone: (360) 786-7636
Email: brian.hatfield@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Hewitt
Phone: (360) 786-7630
Email: mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov

Senator Andy Hill
Phone: (360) 786-7672
Email: andy.hill@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Hobbs
Phone: (360) 786-7686
Email: steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov

Senator Janea Holmquist Newbry
Phone: (360) 786-7624
Email: janea.holmquistnewbry@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jim Honeyford
Phone: (360) 786-7684
Email: jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov

Senator Karen Keiser
Phone: (360) 786-7664
Email: karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov

Senator Curtis King
Phone: (360) 786-7626
Email: curtis.king@leg.wa.gov

Senator Adam Kline
Phone: (360) 786-7688
Email: adam.kline@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles
Phone: (360) 786-7670
Email: jeanne.kohl-welles@leg.wa.gov

Senator Steve Litzow
Phone: (360) 786-7641
Email: steve.litzow@leg.wa.gov

Senator Rosemary McAuliffe
Phone: (360) 786-7600
Email: rosemary.mcauliffe@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mark Mullet
Phone: (360) 786-7608
Email: mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov

Senator Ed Murray
Phone: (360) 786-7628
Email: edward.murray@leg.wa.gov

Senator Sharon Nelson
Phone: (360) 786-7667
Email: sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Padden
Phone: (360) 786-7606
Email: mike.padden@leg.wa.gov

Senator Linda Evans Parlette
Phone: (360) 786-7622
Email: linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov

Senator Kirk Pearson
Phone: (360) 786-7676
Email: kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov

Senator Kevin Ranker
Phone: (360) 786-7678
Email: kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov

Senator Ann Rivers
Phone: (360) 786-7634
Email: ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Senator Pam Roach
Phone: (360) 786-7660
Email: pam.roach@leg.wa.gov

Senator Christine Rolfes
Phone: (360) 786-7644
Email: christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov

Senator Nathan Schlicher
Phone: (360) 786-7650
Email: nathan.schlicher@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mark Schoesler
Phone: (360) 786-7620
Email: mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov

Senator Tim Sheldon
Phone: (360) 786-7668
Email: timothy.sheldon@leg.wa.gov

Senator Paull Shin
Phone: (360) 786-7640
Email: paull.shin@leg.wa.gov

Senator John Smith
Phone: (360) 786-7612
Email: john.smith@leg.wa.gov

Senator Rodney Tom
Phone: (360) 786-7694
Email: rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

Back to Breaking News: Archives



The future of our prized cars and trucks is being threatened! Add your voice to our growing U.S. and Canadian forces united to advance our automotive freedoms. SAN members defend the hobby by responding to timely e-mail updates on vehicle-related legislation and regulations. No fees. No SPAM. No obligations. Great strength comes with great numbers. Can we count on you to help preserve the classics of today and tomorrow?

YouTube Videos
Latest Tweets
Facebook Posts